John Mulhearn- Pipes CD

The Bagpipe Shop

Product Code: CD12373

John Mulhearn- Pipes CD

1. The Apologists (Ripple of Report, The Apologists) 04:22
2. Dundee (Dundee Police's Welcome to Tryst, Luke Kennedy) 03:20
3. A Cage of Snakes (The Gathering Storm, A Cage of Snakes) 05:48
4. The Water Boatman 03:00
5. The Bigfoot Set (Primavera Sound, 45 to 55, Ben's Garden Wall, The New Lanark Reel, The Squirrel Herder) 03:52
6. Wedding and Wales (The MacCrimmon Wedding, Whitebrook) 03:18
7. Drone and Green Shoots 04:27
8. The Idle Pint 02:04
9. Nine Eight (Ross Hall, James Beaton) 02:27
10. The Dawn Chorus (Kelly Nugent, Freda's Fantastic Frying Pan, In the Pipes, The Dawn Chorus) 04:46
11. Looking Up (The Day the Curtain Dropped, The Old Schoolhouse Manchester) 03:28
12. A Lament for Hope 04:58
'Pipes' is an album about the Great Highland Bagpipe and how it's rich sound fills a space, offering different qualities depending on the vantage point. With all tracks recorded on one day, and all tunes self-penned, this album is a unique reassessment of an album format - the solo bagpipe record - that has gone by the wayside in recent years. Post-production and mixing, not to mention the natural acoustics of the recording space, are as integral to the the concept of the album as is the playing and the compositions.
released August 13, 2018

Produced by John Mulhearn and Finlay MacDonald
Recorded and Engineered by Jamie Smith at St Mary's Space, Appin 14th April 2018
Mastered by Barry Reid at Gloworm

Artwork by Somhairle MacDonald
all rights reserved


Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

Looking for Lessons?

Find out about all the ways you can learn at The National Piping Centre

Find out more

Maintenance Service

Find out how we can get your pipes in great shape with our maintenance service


We are a Charity

Every purchase you make supports our work

Find out more